A Bookish Introduction

I’m sure if you and your friends are bookworms, you’d definitely be able to tell whose shelf is whose. The shelf of a bookworm is an insight into their personal life and thus their dreams, interests and perhaps, deeply-rooted emotions. In my opinion, that is completely and beautifully awesome.

In light of this, I have decided to share the contents of my bookshelf with you guys! Books tell stories. They not only tell the story that reside inside of them, but they also tell a story about the person who owns them. Having a look at the books on my shelf will probably tell you more about me than words could describe.

IMG_5319

|| SHELF ONE ||
Filled to the brim with Harry Potter magic and childhood nostalgia, this shelf is very close to my heart. If there is one thing you need to know about me, it’s how much I love the Harry Potter series – the books and the films. Why I love Harry Potter so much should be saved for another blog post so I am going to swiftly move on to why else I love this shelf. Classics such as ‘Alice in Wonderland’ and ‘The Wizard of Oz’ brought additional joy and excitement into my childhood. When novels can evoke such real emotion, you’re bound to connect with them on a truly personal level.

A beautiful statue of Romeo and Juliet has also found its home in this shelf. I got this trinket when I travelled to Italy on a high school trip and visited Juliet’s house in Verona.

 

IMG_5310

|| SHELF TWO ||
I have always felt that this shelf is the most aesthetically pleasing. With a mixture of books series, books without the rest of their set and stand-alone novels, this shelf is a confused mix of literary genius. This shelf contains many YA novels as well as a few darker and more adult novels such as ‘Lolita’ and ‘The Book Thief’. If you enjoy romance, drama and bittersweet endings then you will love most of these novels.

One of my high school teachers gave each student that very adorable angel and I loved it so much that it earned a spot on my shelf. As you can see, I love a good candle. The one I have on this shelf is called a candle melt burner from ECOYA. I highly recommend.

 

IMG_5329

|| SHELF THREE ||
A hodgepodge of books seem to reside in this shelf. From ‘The Maze Runner’ series to comedy books from the hilarious Andy Griffiths, this shelf really has no order to it and I kinda love it. The shelf contains childhood laughs and memories of the days when I loved vampire fantasy novels and sci-fi adventures.

 

IMG_5312

|| SHELF FOUR ||
Why, it’s the fantasy shelf! I also feel like calling this my ‘tween-phase’ shelf because it is filled with books I read as a early/mid teen. And yes, I don’t own ‘New Moon’ from the Twilight series but I did read them all and I actually enjoyed the books when I was younger! Clearly I enjoy them so much that I brought Twilight’s companion novella, ‘The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner’ and enjoyed that read as well. On the right-hand side of this shelf is a book called ‘My Special Christmas Adventure’ which is probably one of my favourite books in my bookshelf because of its sentimentality. It’s one of those amazing books where you are the protagonist in an incredible Christmas adventure with Santa.

 

IMG_5311

|| SHELF FIVE ||
This meticulously organised shelf is filled with some of literatures most valued classics. I’m quite proud to say that I was introduced to quite a few of these novels because of high-school. Without that encouragement to read a few of these classics in English class, I probably would never have picked up some of these books and read them. I am still trying to tackle Jane Austen’s collection but apart from that, I have proudly read all of these novels and would highly recommend each and every one of them.

Andddd there’s another candle.

 

IMG_5314

|| SHELF SIX ||
Filled with fantasy novels such as ‘The Hobbit’ and ‘Eragon’ that are stood next to horror literature such as the Goosebumps series by R.L. Stine, there’s just no order or reason on this shelf. When I look at this shelf I have flashbacks of travelling to Melbourne when I was younger and buying these Goosebumps at a vintage-looking bookstore with my friend. Have any of you guys read some of these books (shout-out to my fellow Aussies who have read ‘Tale of a Fourth Grade Nothing’ by Judy Blume in school)?

It would be interesting to hear your opinions on my bookish taste. Let me know what you think of my literary line-up in the comment section below! Rani xxx

2 thoughts on “A Bookish Introduction

Leave a Reply

