Negativity & Worthiness

The saying “shit happens” is undeniably true and yet it means so little when you say it out-loud to yourself. There are things in your life that happen that you can’t control. You begin to lose your grasp on everything you once you had control over and feelings you’ve only dreamt about start to arise – constant anger, frustration and a hovering sadness. I can’t be the only one who feel this way, right? 

Whether your parents are on the verge of divorce or you feel like your friends are turning against you, you get upset because you care. So when people say “don’t worry about it, nothing has happened yet,” or “aren’t you used to it by now anyway,” it’s an absolute kick to the gut, the mind and the heart. 

I’ve always prided myself on my positivity. If nothing else, I could always smile and make someone else’s day a little brighter. I’m one of those people who are sickeningly positive. One of those people who vomit rainbows and poop glitter – and I enjoy being that person, for myself and other people. The only problem with this is as soon as I begin to feel sad or angry, the people around me become frustrated – “why aren’t you happy?” and “you’re so negative,” seem to be common questions I get asked when I’m slightly ‘out of character’. 

Truth be told, I’m not a robot which means that, to my disappointment, I can’t be happy all the time. Everyone goes through the motions and we should not feel guilty for feeling that way – we all need a friend who listens.

Worthiness makes its way into this blog post because we are all deserve to be listened to and we can all be negative when things don’t go our way. We are all worthy of friends who are determined to steer us back in the right direction – back to who we are and not who we are becoming because of our circumstances.

Happiness becomes those who wish to be happy. Tough times are conquered with friends, laughter, cuddles and self-belief.

Leave a Reply

